Dairy-free Caramel

These indulgent caramels are diabolically good, especially with some chunky French Grey Sea Salt on top. The sweet and salty combination is to-die-for. These are easy enough to make ahead of time and serve as a fancy dessert as a holiday party.

Serves: 12

Serves: 12decrease servingsincrease servings

Ingredients

Process

Note, these instructions are written assuming the standard serving size, since you have modified the number of servings, these steps may need to be modified for best results
  1. Add all ingredients (except sea salt) to a medium sauce pot over medium high heat. Whisk together.
  2. Use a candy thermometer to monitor the temperature. The mixture will bubble and boil while cooking. Continue to heat and whisk until the mixture reaches "soft ball" stage (235-240 F).
  3. Remove from heat and spoon the mixture into parchment paper muffin cups (which are non-stick) and sprinkle with sea salt. Allow to cool before enjoying.
Our recipes are created using Paleo, Primal and Gluten-free guidelines. Learn more about our diet and lifestyle at www.primalpalate.com.

Add a Note

My Notes:

Add a Note

Recipe Info

  • Difficulty
  • prep:5 minutes
  • cook:30 minutes
  • Show nutritional information
    This is our estimate based on online research.
    Calories:133
    Fat:8 g
    Carbohydrates:17 g
    Protein:0 g
    Calculated per serving.

Used in this recipe

Never Miss a Bite

Get recipes delivered to your inbox every week

shop Primal Palate spices
RECIPE REVIEWS

  1. rlacount
    July 11, 2016

    This not dairy free. Ghee still contains dairy proteins that can cause an allergic reaction in someone who has a dairy allergy.

    1. July 11, 2016

      There’s a reason we call out a specific brand for this recipe: it is lab tested for total elimination of casein and lactose.

  2. _Betty_
    January 26, 2018

    While this ghee might be casein & lactose free it IS still dairy. This ghee still contains whey which does contain protein that many with dairy allergies may still be allergic to & vegans would still not want to consume.

    It’s made me assume that all of the recipes on here are labeled just as poorly & would not be a site that won’t actually put me in a hospital were I to eat something from here if a friend or family member came across this site trying to make me something.

  3. January 26, 2018

    Betty,
    The specific brand of ghee we call out in this recipe is lab tested to be 100% casein and lactose free.
    We are not claiming this recipe to be Vegan, just to be clear on that point.
    Sorry to hear you have such a severe dairy allergy, that must be quite difficult for you. I’m sorry this recipe doesn’t work for you.
    Bill

Write a Review

You need to be registered and logged in to post a review.